Alpha Omega College
    5 St Andrews Crescent, Cardiff, CF10 3DA
    Wales, UK
    Tel:+44(0)29 2034 1212

    NCC LEVEL 5: Diploma in Computing (Undergraduate)


    IT Department

    Module Code:



    NCC Education Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) 
    Equivalent to year 2 of a 3 year UK honours degree

    The Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L5DC) makes up the second year of the NCC Education degree journey and builds upon the knowledge gained during the NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing. Exposing you to greater detail and more advanced topics in a range of areas including database development, information systems analysis, and network security and cryptography.
    You will study a balance of academic and vocational subjects in order to provide you with the necessary knowledge and skills to play a significant role in IT organisations.
    On successful completion of the qualification you will be able to complete the final year of a degree at one of the many universities that recognise NCC Education qualifications, or pursue a career in the IT industry.


    Accreditation Status

    NCC Education is accredited to award the Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) by Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) in England. Ofqual Qualification reference number 600/3055/0.



    Entry Requirements

    For entry onto the NCC Education L5DC qualification you must have at least one of the following:

    • NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC).


    • A local or international qualification which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education L4DC qualification. This must be agreed with NCC Education in advance.

    If you're a potential student whose first language is not English, you will need to obtain a valid score of 5.5 or above in the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) examination or equivalent. Alternatively, take the free NCC Education Higher English Placement Test, which is administered by our Accredited Partner Centres.



    You must study the following eight core units:

    • Professional Issues in IT - highlights the professional issues that impact on the development, deployment, maintenance and use of computer systems. This unit will equip you with the knowledge surrounding social, ethical and legal issues applicable to the IT field and also a working understanding of software quality.
    • Network Security and Cryptography - provides you with the underlying theory and practical skills required to secure networks and to send data safely and securely over network communications.
    • Information Systems Analysis - equips you with a range of tools to analyse the function and requirements of information systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models, and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.
    • Dynamic Websites - builds on existing knowledge of both databases and web design in order to build dynamic websites and also equips you with a range of skills to present content on the World Wide Web.
    • Analysis, Design and Implementation - provides you with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-orientated techniques for the development of software. The unit also develops your expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.
    • Database Design and Development - allows you to develop your skills in the design and development of databases and database management systems, as well as investigating enterprise applications of databases.
    • Agile Development - explores the processes, people, practices and principles of agile development systems. The unit fully prepares you for the future trends in software development and reinforces your understanding of the information systems development process.
    • Computing Project - gives you the opportunity to utilise the skills needed to develop a computing artefact to solve a problem, which involves research, analysis, design, coding, testing and project management knowledge and expertise.



    Assessments for all units are offered in a number of assessment cycles throughout the year. All units, except the project, are assessed by both examination and assignments.



    Learning Outcomes

    On successful completion of the NCC Education Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF), you will have acquired a critical understanding of the established principles of computing and developed new skills relevant to the IT industry. You will have also gained a breadth of knowledge in IT which will allow you to successfully implement your skills in further study or in a professional role within the IT profession.




    The qualification allows entry onto NCC Education's final year top-up qualifications in Computing (further entry requirements may apply), or to a third year of many UK university degree courses, or enables you to pursue a career in the IT industry.
    Progression routes can be found on our University Progression page.





    Federation of Small Businesses